Campus & Community


4 min read

Stebbins named fellow, curator at Fogg Museum

Theodore E. Stebbins Jr. was named distinguished fellow and consultative curator of American art at the Fogg Art Museum in August. Stebbins is one of the nation’s leading scholars of American art. He served for 22 years as John Moors Cabot Curator of American Paintings at the Museum of Fine Arts (MFA) in Boston before stepping down in 1999. While at the MFA, Stebbins conceived, organized, and installed more than a dozen major exhibitions, including the first exhibition of American paintings to travel to China (in 1980); the great “New World” show (in 1984), which was seen in Boston, Washington, and Paris; and the critically acclaimed “Lure of Italy: American Artists and the Italian Experience, 1760-1914” (in 1992).

Stebbins also directed the addition of more than 300 American paintings to the MFA collection, adding such major works as Copley’s “Boy With a Squirrel” and Gilbert Stuart’s portraits of George and Martha Washington; as well as outstanding paintings by the Hudson River school; by Tarbell, Benson, and other members of the Boston school; by Sargent and Homer; and by such 20th century painters as Pollock and Warhol.

When announcing Stebbins’ appointment, James Cuno, the Elizabeth and John Moors Cabot Director of the Harvard University Art Museums, also announced the creation of an endowed curatorship in American art, funded anonymously and named in honor of Benjamin Rowland, a noted Harvard professor of fine arts who died in 1972. The Benjamin Rowland Curator of American Art will be appointed at a future date.

Fein receives Yarmolinsky Medal for IOM involvementRashi Fein, Professor of the Economics of Medicine Emeritus at Harvard Medical School, has been awarded the Adam Yarmolinsky Medal for his impressive formal achievements and dedicated involvement in the early years of the Institute of Medicine (IOM).

Prior to coming to the Medical School, Fein was a senior fellow in the Economics Program at the Brookings Institution, a member of the senior staff of President Kennedy’s Council of Economic Advisors, and on the staff of President Truman’s Commission on the Health Needs of the Nation. As a charter member of the IOM, Fein served on its original council and on the search committee that selected the first two presidents. He is also a founding member of the National Academy of Social Insurance. This is the inaugural year of the Yarmolinsky Medal. The IOM will give the award to a member from a discipline outside of the health and medical sciences to recognize distinguished service.

Bryan named Edith W. Fine Public Interest Fellow

Sophie Bryan, Harvard Law School ’00, a Skadden Fellow at the Hale and Dorr Legal Services Center in Jamaica Plain, Boston, has been named the 2000 Edith W. Fine Public Interest Fellow.

Bryan is co-chair of the Student Public Interest Auction and founding member of the Project on Law and Organizing. She has also served on the Legal Services Center Student Advisory Board and as a peer counselor for the Office of Public Interest Advising. Bryan is also on the Executive Board of the Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review.

The annual Fine Fellowship supports the work of a Harvard Law School graduate who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership and commitment to public service work, especially in the areas of civil or criminal legal assistance to the poor, women’s reproductive rights, and anti-discrimination work.Friends, family, and colleagues established the fellowship in 1996 to honor Fine’s distinguished public service career and her pioneering role as one of the earliest women graduates of Harvard Law School.

Four win Sears Prize at Law SchoolHarvard Law School has awarded the Joshua Montgomery Sears, Jr. prize to four students for academic achievement. The prizes are awarded annually, one to each of the two students receiving the highest averages in their first-year work, and one to each of the two students receiving the highest averages in their second-year work.

Class of 2002 members Joshua Feltman of Park Ridge, N.J. and Steven Lehotsky of Carlisle, Mass., were the first-year recipients. Class of 2001 students John O’Quinn of Fuquay-Varina, N.C., and Elizabeth Saylor of Atlanta, Ga., were the second-year recipients.

The Law School established the Sears Prize in 1912 with support from Sarah C. Sears in memory of her son, Joshua Montgomery Sears Jr., Class of 1904.