Campus & Community


4 min read

Pollution study captures Fisher Prize

Diane Hart Barnes, a doctoral candidate in the department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, is the recipient of the Howard T. Fisher Prize in Geographical Information Science (GIS), Harvard University, for the academic year 1999-00.

Barnes received the award for her work titled “Urban/Industrial Pollution for the New York City-Washington, D.C., Corridor: Providing Independent Verification of Emission Inventories.”

Barnes’ work achieved recognition relating the pollution plumes monitored at the Harvard Forest to the county-level emission inventories.

Law School’s Frug receives Brandeis Chair

Gerald Frug has been named the Louis D. Brandeis Professor of Law. The chair honors a professor who has made contributions to teaching and scholarship in urban legal studies. It is named in honor of the Law School graduate and U.S. Supreme Court justice, Louis D. Brandeis. Brandeis was Law School Class of 1877 and taught Evidence at Harvard in 1882 and 1883. He served on the Supreme Court for 23 years, from 1916 to 1939.

Frug received his A.B. in political science in 1960 from the University of California at Berkeley and his J.D. in 1963 from Harvard Law School.

He became professor of law in 1981 and the Samuel R. Rosenthal Professor of Law in 1994. Previous holders of the professorship were Professor Emeritus Charles Haar and the late Professor Gary Bellow.

HLS awards Fay Diploma to Brian Fitzpatrick

Brian Fitzpatrick ’00 has received the Fay Diploma for having the highest combined average for three years of study in residence at the Law School.

While at the Law School, Fitzpatrick received the Sears Prize, which is awarded to two students who receive the highest averages for first-year and second-year work.

Fitzpatrick, of Albuquerque, N.M., received his bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from the University of Notre Dame. He received his secondary education at the Albuquerque Academy.

Following graduation, Fitzpatrick will have a one-year clerkship with Judge Diarmuid O’Scannlain, U.S. Court of Appeals for the 9th Circuit in Portland, Ore.

The Fay Diploma is prepared and issued in memory of Jonathan Fay, A.B. 1778, and Samuel Philips Prescott Fay, A.B. 1798.

Medical School’s Ono inducted into Collegium Internationale Allergologicum

Santa Jeremy Ono, an associate professor at the Medical School, was inducted into the Collegium Internationale Allergologicum during the academy’s biennial symposium in Hakone, Japan, in May.

Founded by Paul Kallos, Carl Prausnitz, and Elvin Kabat in 1954, the Collegium is the preeminent international academy of scientists investigating allergic and other diseases of the immune system.

A.R.T.’s Orchard receives Norton Award

Robert J. Orchard, managing director of the American Repertory Theatre, was honored with the coveted Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence during the 18th annual Elliot Norton Awards ceremony in June. The Boston Theater Critics Association determines the annual award winners.

Hausmann to Join Kennedy School

Ricardo Hausmann, chief economist at the Inter-American Development Bank since 1994, will join John F. Kennedy School of Government (KSG) in September as professor of the practice of economic development.

Hausmann received his Ph.D. in Economics from Cornell University. Prior to serving as chief economist, he was Minister of Coordination and Planning of Venezuela, a member of the board of the Central Bank of Venezuela, and chairman of the IMF-World Bank Development Committee.

George elected to American National Red Cross Board of Governors

Harvard graduate William W. George was elected an at-large member of the American Red Cross Board of Governors. George received his M.B.A. from the Business School in 1966.

Divinity School’s Sullivan wins Andersen Prize

Lawrence E. Sullivan, director of the Center for the Study of World Religions at Harvard Divinity School, has been awarded one the world’s most prestigious prizes for children’s literature.

The general editor of a 12-volume series titled The Religions of Humanity, Sullivan was awarded the Andersen Prize in Sestri Levante, Italy, by the Premio Andersen-Il Mondo dell’Infanzia Foundation. Named in honor of the author Hans Christian Andersen, this prize for children’s literature is coveted by publishers of young people’s literature in Europe. The Italian edition of The Religions of Humanity series received the prize for “Best Popular Series” judged on the following criteria: “beauty of graphic design, balance of the project, and the singular degree of its distinct contribution to a civil and open society.”