Campus & Community


3 min read

Warfield Named Chair of Anesthesia and Critical Care at BIDMC

Carol A. Warfield, associate professor of anesthesia at Harvard Medical School, has been named chair of the anesthesia and critical care department at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC). An expert in pain management with a 22-year career at BIDMC and its predecessor, Beth Israel Hospital, Warfield has served as chief of the institution’s pain management division in anesthesiology since 1992 and as director of the Pain Management Center since 1980. She also served as vice chairman for academic affairs. She is the author of two major textbooks on pain management.

“I am very pleased Dr. Warfield has accepted this chairmanship. She is a highly accomplished anesthesiologist, a wonderful physician to her patients, and a talented leader,” said Michael Rosenblatt, George Richards Minot Professor of Medicine and interim president of BIDMC. “Carol’s appointment represents an important step in the medical center’s efforts to remain at the leading edge in care, research, and education.”

Crawford Appointed Professor of Urban Design at GSD

Margaret Lee Crawford has been named Professor of Urban Design and Planning Theory at the Harvard Graduate School of Design, effective July 1, 2000. Crawford is currently the chair of the History, Theory and Humanities Program at the Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCIARC), where she has been a member of the faculty since 1985.

A leading interpreter of contemporary urbanism and architecture, Crawford’s most recent work includes a theory that would allow urban designers to incorporate social and political concerns into regulatory, design, and development practices. She is the author of Building the Workingman’s Paradise: The Design of the American Company Town and several other articles and books.

Crawford received a B.A. from the University of California, Berkeley, a graduate diploma from the Architect ural Association in London, and a Ph.D. from the University of California, Los Angeles.

Coleman Wins Heineman Prize from American Physical Society

Sidney R. Coleman, Donner Professor of Science in the Physics Department, will receive the Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics from the American Physical Society (APS) during the organization’s meeting in Long Beach, Calif., April 29—May 2.

A prize or award presented by the American Physical Society is considered one of the highest honors a physicist can receive. The Dannie Heineman Prize recognizes outstanding publications in the field of mathematical physics. Coleman will receive $7,500 and a certificate citing his contributions, plus travel expenses to attend the meeting. The prize was established in 1959 by the Heineman Foundation for Research, Educational, Charitable, and Scientific Purposes, Inc., and is administered jointly by the American Physical Society and the American Institute of Physics.

Three Selected for 2000 Guggenheim Fellowship

Three members of Harvard’s faculty are among the 182 artists, scholars, and scientists awarded fellowships by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. Guggenheim Fellows are appointed on the basis of distinguished achievement in the past and exceptional promise for future accomplishment. They include writers, painters, sculptors, photographers, filmmakers, choreographers, physical and biological scientists, social scientists, and scholars in the humanities.

Harvard’s winners are: Howard C. Berg, professor of molecular and cellular biology and physics; Howard Gardner, the John H. and Elisabeth A. Hobbs Professor of Cognition and Education; and Ewa Lajer-Burcharth, the Harris K. Weston Associate Professor of the Humanities.