Campus & Community

Candidates for Overseer and for HAA Elected Director 2000

3 min read

Appearing below are the Harvard Alumni Association’s nominations for this year’s election to the University’s Board of Overseers and the HAA Board of Directors. The election this spring will determine five new Overseers and six new members of the HAA Board. Ballots will be mailed by April 15 and results of the election will be announced on Commencement Day, June 8, 2000.

The nominations reflect the deliberations of the HAA Nominating Committee, a broadly representative group of Harvard graduates whose voting members include three present or former Overseers as well as 10 other alumni and alumnae chosen by the HAA Executive Committee from among the alumni body.

Candidates for election may also be nominated by petition. Prospective petition candidates have until February 10, 2000, to gather and submit the requisite number of signatures from eligible degree-holders. For Overseer, signatures must appear on official nomination forms obtained from and returned to the Secretary of the Board of Overseers at 17 Quincy Street. For Elected Director, signatures may be made by certificate and must be filed at Wadsworth House, the office of the Association. A list of all the candidates will be published in the Gazette after Feb. 10.

For Overseer:

Aida Alvarez, AB ’71 cum laude. Small Business Administration. Washington, D.C.

Franklin Hobbs IV, AB ’69 magna cum laude, MBA ’73. Advisor and Former Chair, Warburg, Dillon, Read. New York, NY.

Andrew K. Ludwick, AB ’67 cum laude, MBA ’69. Founder, Former President and CEO, Bay Networks, Inc.; Private Investor. Palo Alto, CA.

M. Lee Pelton, PhD ’84; BA ’74 Wichita State University. President, Willamette University. Salem, OR.

Barbara Schultz Robinson, HRPBA ’52; AB ’51 Wellesley College. Chair, Ohio Arts Council. Columbus, OH.

Patti B. Saris, AB ’73 magna cum laude, JD ’76 cum laude. U.S. District Court Judge. Boston, MA.

Steven A. Schroeder, MD ’64 cum laude; AB ’60 Stanford University. President and CEO, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Princeton, NJ.

Anne M. Sweeney, Ed.M. ’80; AB ’79 College of New Rochelle. President, Disney/ABC Cable Networks and Disney Channel. Los Angeles, CA.

For Elected Director:

Scott C. Collins, AB ’87 magna cum laude, JD ’90 cum laude. Principal, Summit Partners. Boston, MA.

Victoria Hamilton, AB ’75 cum laude, MBA ’79. Acting COO, Source Media, Inc.; Principal, Washington Advisory Group. New York, NY.

F. Barton Harvey, AB ’71 magna cum laude, MBA ’74. Chair and CEO, The Enterprise Foundation. Baltimore, MD.

Walter H. Morris, Jr., AB ’73, MBA ’75. Senior Manager, Ernst & Young. Washington, DC.

Felicia D. Phillips, SB ’88. Sales Operations Manager, BellSouth Business. Atlanta, GA.

Eva M. Plaza, AB ’80 cum laude; JD ’84 Boalt Hall School of Law, University of California, Berkeley. Assistant Secretary for Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity, Department of Housing and Urban Development. Washington, D.C.

Susan M. Williams, AB ’77 magna cum laude, JD ’81. Partner, Williams, Janov & Cooney, PC. Albuquerque, NM.

Barbara J. Wu, PhD ’81; BA ’75 Smith College. Homemaker. Chicago, IL.

John C. Yoo, AB ’89 summa cum laude; JD ’92 Yale Law School. Professor, Boalt Hall School of Law, University of California, Berkeley. Berkeley, CA.