November 11, 1999
University Gazette


Full contents
Police Log
Gazette Home
Gazette Archives
News Office




Moore Wins Huxley Award in Anthropology

Sally Falk Moore was recently named winner of the Huxley Medal, awarded by the Royal Anthropological Institute in London. Photo by Joe Wrinn.

Sally Falk Moore, Victor S. Thomas Research Professor of Anthropology, was recently named Huxley Memorial Medalist and Lecturer for 1999 by the Royal Anthropological Institute in London. The Huxley Medal is the highest honor bestowed by the Institute.

Moore received the award and delivered the Huxley Lecture in October during the opening plenary event of a conference celebrating the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Anthropology Department at the University of Manchester, England. Moore’s lecture topic was "Certainties Undone: Fifty Turbulent Years of Legal Anthropology, 1949-99."

"I was very pleased to be honored in this way. The occasion was a fine mixture of academic seriousness and ritual pomp," Moore said.

A lawyer since 1945, Moore worked at the Nuremberg Trials after World War II before returning to the United States to pursue a doctorate in anthropology at Columbia University. She held professorships at the University of Southern California and at the University of California at Los Angeles, and was visiting professor at Yale before coming to Harvard.

She has written many articles and several books, including Power and Property in Inca Peru (1958), Law as Process (1978), Social Facts and Fabrications (1986), and Anthropology and Africa: Changing Perspectives on a Changing Scene (1995).

She was appointed to a professorship in the Department of Anthropology at Harvard in 1981. Moore also served as Dunster House Master from 1984 to 1989 and as Dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences from 1985 until 1989. She was named the Victor S. Thomas Professor in 1991 and became the Victor S. Thomas Research Professor in 1996, when she retired.

Moore is the second woman to be awarded the Huxley Medal in its 100-year history and the third Harvard professor so honored since 1970.


Copyright 1999 President and Fellows of Harvard College