September 25, 1997
University Gazette


Full contents
Police Log
Gazette Home
Gazette Archives
News Office



Karplus To Supervise Burroughs Wellcome fellow

The 1997 national fellowship competition held by the Program in Mathematics and Molecular Biology (PMMB) has selected Jianpeng Ma as a Burroughs Wellcome PMMB Postdoctoral Fellow. Ma will work with Martin Karplus, Theodore William Richards Professor of Chemistry, on a project, "Novel Mathematical Methods for Computing Reaction Paths of the Large Scale Conformational Changes in Protein."

Physicist Glauber becomes member of Royal Society

Roy J. Glauber, Mallinckrodt Professor of Physics, has been elected a Foreign Member of the Royal Society of London. The Royal Society, founded under royal charter (of Charles II) in 1660, is the academy of sciences of the United Kingdom. The Society has approximately 1,150 members who are citizens of Britain and the Commonwealth, and 100 foreign members.

Richmond Wins Award for Work in Children's Health

Julius Richmond, the John D. MacArthur Professor of Health Policy Emeritus in the Department of Social Medicine at the Medical School, received the Children's Home Society of Florida's highest honor, the A.L. Ellis Voice for Children.

The award, which is given annually to an individual of national distinction who has been an effective voice for disadvantaged children, was given to Richmond in recognition of his pioneering research and contributions in the fields of pediatrics, child health and development, and public health policy. His research on the development of disadvantaged children led to the establishment of the Head Start program in the United States.

American Academy Inducts New Members

Among the 148 new fellows inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences are: Alan Altshuler, the Ruth and Frank Stanton Professor of Urban Policy and Planning; Arthur Dempster, professor of theoretical statistics; Rose Frisch, associate professor of population sciences emerita; Michael Herzfeld, professor of anthropology; Harold Howe II, senior lecturer on education emeritus; Bill Kovach, curator of the Nieman Foundation; Eva Julia Neer, professor of medicine; Chester Pierce, professor of education and psychiatry at the Graduate School of Education and in the School of Public Health's Department of Behaviorial Sciences; and Naomi Schor, professor of Romance languages and literatures.

The Academy also elected Daniel Tosteson, former Dean of the Medical School, as president, and Dudley Herschbach, Frank B. Baird Professor of Science, as secretary of the Academy.


Copyright 1998 President and Fellows of Harvard College